Apple plans to shut down its My Photo Stream service on July 26, 2023, the company . The free service has been available since iCloud was released in 2011. You can use My Photo Stream to upload the last 30 days of photos and videos – up to a limit of 1,000 – from your Apple devices to iCloud. My Photo Stream came first and gave Apple users a way to access their photos and video clips on more than one device. Interestingly, content uploaded to iCloud via My Photo Stream does not count against your iCloud storage cap, although they are not saved in full resolution.
In a support document found by , Apple said that My Photo Stream will automatically stop uploading photos to the company’s servers on June 26th, 2023. At that point, your photos and videos will remain in iCloud for 30 days until the official closing on July 26th. Because every photo and video uploaded to iCloud via My Photo Stream is stored in its original format and resolution on at least one of your Apple devices, you won’t lose any memories as part of the process of shutdown. That said, if you want to have access to a particular photo on a particular device, Apple recommends that you save it to that device’s Photo Library by July 26th.
On iPhone and iPad, you can save a photo from your My Photo Stream by opening the Photos app, navigating to the My Photo Stream album, selecting the photo you want to save and then tapping Share button to save it to your Library. Apple concludes the support document by noting, “iCloud Photos is the best way to keep the photos and videos you take across all your devices up to date and stored securely in iCloud.”
All products recommended by Engadget are selected by our editorial team, independent of our parent company. Some of our stories include affiliate links. If you purchase something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission. All prices are correct at the time of publishing.